Etiwanda Gets Pins From Manzo, Diaz & Bell in Wednesday’s 34-33 Victory Over San Clemente in Championship Round of CIF-SS Division 2 Team Dual

Feb 02 2024 02:30:21


When it comes to area wrestling, the first two programs you typically hear about are Walnut and Northview.

And the Mustangs and Vikings are the definition of elite.

But there’s this school in the Inland Empire off the 210 Freeway and Day Creek Boulevard that just earned a second consecutive CIF-SS team dual title.

They also secured their fourth Baseline League championship in a row.

And they’ll have their share of athletes making the annual trip to Bakersfield at the CIF State meet in a few weeks.

After lopsided victories over Ramona, Aliso Niguel and Long Beach Millikan last Saturday, the Etiwanda wrestling program hosted San Clemente in the championship round of the CIF-SS Division 2 team duals on Wednesday night.

The Eagles would secure a 34-33 victory over the Tritons.

San Clemente picked up 15 team points in the final three matches with two pins and a decision victory to close to within one point.

But Etiwanda did just enough to earn a second ring.

Evan Manzo (165) gave EHS a 6-0 team lead with a pin of Andre Estrada.

But San Clemente would take a 12-6 advantage after decision wins at 175 and 220, and a pin at 190 pounds.

Etiwanda heavyweight Galen Brown defeated state-ranked Luke Mihele, 7-1, and EHS trailed, 12-9.

The Tritons would up their lead to 18-9 after a pin-fall victory at 106.

The Eagles, however, would win the next five matches.

At 113 pounds, Maxx Diaz pinned Miles Hammer.

Jacob Solano defeated San Clemente’s Chase Baker, 6-4, at 120, and the dual was tied at 18-18.

Etiwanda’s 126-pound Ben Mejia earned four team points with his 17-4 major decision over Bryson Floyd.

Austin McSwain (132) was awarded a win via disqualification against Luke Kessler.

And Jacob Bell, ranked ninth in the state at 138 pounds, gave Etiwanda a 34-18 lead with his pin of state-ranked Jacob Ho.

Up next: The Eagles will compete in this weekend’s Baseline League finals at Damien.

Etiwanda’s Road to a CIF-SS Division 2 Team Dual Title:
First Round: Etiwanda 67, Ramona 12
Quarterfinal: Etiwanda 65, Aliso Niguel 15
Semifinal: Etiwanda 52, Millikan 19
Championship: Etiwanda 34, San Clemente 33