Northview’s Acuna, San Marino’s Yoshitake & Uyemura, & Chino’s Samano & Vassalle Secure CIF-SS Coastal Division Individual Titles

Feb 11 2024 02:00:45

CIF-SS Coastal Division:

To view a photo gallery by RT Tolentino, click on the Facebook link here: Facebook

Northview entered Saturday’s second round of the CIF-SS Coastal Division Individuals with seven wrestlers that had reached the semifinal round.

When it was all said and done, it was 190-pound Sonny Acuna that secured an individual title for the Vikings.

And Acuna did it in dominating form.

He collected five victories via pin, including his final round stick of Servite’s Mitchell Semaan at 1:59.

NHS had runners-up at 106 (Marcus Tolentino), 113 (Jovanni Evangelista), 132 (Henry Arellano) and 144-pound Viviano Gutierrez).

San Marino’s Ryder Yoshitake secured the 144-pound title.

Yoshitake had two pins, a tech, major and an injury forfeit in the final.

After a first-round bye, San Marino’s Mikel Davi Uyemura pinned four consecutive opponents en route to the 150-pound crown.

Uyemura pinned St. John Bosco’s Yazir Tellez at 1:31 in the title bout.

Chino’s Zachary Samano earned the first of two titles for the Cowboys.

The 106-pounder had four consecutive pins before edging top-seeded Marcus Tolentino, 7-4, in the final.

Michael Vassalle (Chino) pinned his first two opponents, and in the semifinal round, Vassalle edged top-seeded Michael Alvarez of Mater Dei, 3-2.

In the title bout, Vassalle edged Evan Sepanlou (Quartz Hill), 3-1.

Team Scores:
1-St. John Bosco (335.5)
2-Northview (217.5)
3-Servite (212)
4-Chino (211)
5-Ventura (147)
6-Quartz Hill (125)
7-Highland (115)
8-San Marino (106.5)
9-Westminster (95.5)
10-Thousand Oaks (70)

Top-5 Advances to CIF-SS Masters Meet:

106 Pounds:

Title Match: Zachary Samano def. Marcus Tolentino, 7-4.

1st Place – Zachary Samano of Chino
2nd Place – Marcus Tolentino of Northview
3rd Place – Zeke Guerrero of Quartz Hill
4th Place – Aaron Contreras of West Covina
5th Place – Matt Hernandez of Rio Mesa
6th Place – Jason Ybarra of Pacifica Oxnard
7th Place – Brayden O`Neil of Mater Dei
8th Place – Jacob Hernandez of Ventura


Title Match: Sean Wilcox def. Jovanni Evangelista, 5-2.

1st Place – Sean Wilcox of St John Bosco
2nd Place – Jovanni Evangelista of Northview
3rd Place – Issac Antunez of Godinez
4th Place – Angel Rivera of San Marcos
5th Place – Caleb Valenzuela of Chino
6th Place – Daniel Godinez of Rio Mesa
7th Place – Andrew Aguilera of Highland
8th Place – Brayden Beckinger of Quartz Hill


Title Match: Nathan Carrillo pinned Jonathan Madera at 2:00.

1st Place – Nathan Carrillo of St John Bosco
2nd Place – Jonathan Madera of Chino
3rd Place – Michael Manzano of La Canada
4th Place – Micah Wegman of Calabasas
5th Place – Noah Butler of Northview
6th Place – Richard Ma of San Marino
7th Place – Jayden Tate of Ventura
8th Place – Gustavo Pulido of Eastside


Title Match: Michael Romero def. Rylan Pedroza, 12-0.

1st Place – Michael Romero of St John Bosco
2nd Place – Rylan Pedroza of Buena
3rd Place – Jaime Serrato of Highland
4th Place – Elias Flores of Northview
5th Place – Alex Newman of Servite
6th Place – Noah Halstead of Lancaster
7th Place – Daniel Baeza of San Dimas
8th Place – Jesse Salazar of Covina


Title Match: Jesse Grajeda def. Henry Arellano, 22-4.

1st Place – Jesse Grajeda of St John Bosco
2nd Place – Henry Arellano of Northview
3rd Place – Calen Reyna of Servite
4th Place – Shaun Vague of Dos Pueblos
5th Place – David Franco of Chino
6th Place – Sevak Araklyen of Burbank
7th Place – Skyler Field of Littlerock
8th Place – Darius Mello of Thousand Oaks


Title Match: Sergio Gomez def. Nathan Cauwel, 3-2.

1st Place – Sergio Gomez of St John Bosco
2nd Place – Nathan Cauwel of Chino
3rd Place – Ethan Dorsey of Ventura
4th Place – Patrick Flores of Westminster
5th Place – Jacob Owen of Servite
6th Place – Richard Kalajyan of Burbank
7th Place – Dylan Kendall of Quartz Hill
8th Place – Josh Sim of Lutheran Orange


Title Match: Ryder Yoshitake def. Viviano Gutierrez by injury forfeit.

1st Place – Ryder Yoshitake of San Marino
2nd Place – Viviano Gutierrez of Northview
3rd Place – Tigran Greyan of St John Bosco
4th Place – Joshua Valdez of Servite
5th Place – Daniel Rundle of Ventura
6th Place – Kilian Hannegan of JSerra
7th Place – Maxwell Hoang of Garden Grove
8th Place – Nathanial Gonzalez of Chino


Title Match: Mikel David Uyemura pinned Yazir Tellez at 1:31.

1st Place – Mikel David Uyemura of San Marino
2nd Place – Yazir Tellez of St John Bosco
3rd Place – Michael Schrader of Ventura
4th Place – Adrian Harris of Highland
5th Place – Caden Camacho of Servite
6th Place – Miguel Moreno of Rio Mesa
7th Place – Caesar Navarro of Agoura
8th Place – Andrew Ferreyra of Westminster


Title Match: Grigor Cholakyan pinned Robert Alanis at 0:27.

1st Place – Grigor Cholakyan of St John Bosco
2nd Place – Robert Alanis of Servite
3rd Place – Cesar Lopez of Highland
4th Place – Nathaniel Dominguez of Pacifica Oxnard
5th Place – Freddy Suri of Montclair
6th Place – David Lopez of Buena
7th Place – Shane Linehan of Santa Margarita
8th Place – Noel Munez of Oxnard


Title Match: Joseph Antonio pinned Wylde Brant at 1:00.

1st Place – Joseph Antonio of St John Bosco
2nd Place – Wylde Brant of Ventura
3rd Place – Christian Barroso of Segerstrom
4th Place – Samuel Ramos of Dos Pueblos
5th Place – Ethan Cedillo of Westminster
6th Place – Manuel Quesada of Oxnard
7th Place – Luke Hankins of Servite
8th Place – Luis Catalan of Chaffey


Title Match: Michael Vassalle def. Evan Sepanlou, 3-1.

1st Place – Michael Vassalle of Chino
2nd Place – Evan Sepanlou of Quartz Hill
3rd Place – Michael Alvarez of Mater Dei
4th Place – Brayden Carson of St John Bosco
5th Place – Aiden Pacheco of Northview
6th Place – Brando MosQueda of Servite
7th Place – Maxwell Rosen of La Canada
8th Place – Grickore Danelyan of Hoover


Title Match: Sonny Acuna pinned Mitchell Semaan at 1:59.

1st Place – Sonny Acuna of Northview
2nd Place – Mitchell Semaan of Servite
3rd Place – Thai Nguyen of Ocean View
4th Place – Tasman Cassell of Newbury Park
5th Place – Nathan Blanco of Chino
6th Place – Tyler Townhill of Quartz Hill
7th Place – Mike Baeza of San Dimas
8th Place – Dylan Baetsle of La Canada


Title Match: James Rocha pinned Edwin Hopkins at 4:50.

1st Place – James Rocha of Thousand Oaks
2nd Place – Edwin Hopkins of Westminster
3rd Place – Jayden Baer of Quartz Hill
4th Place – Tusitala Ili of Lutheran Orange
5th Place – Julian Solis of San Marino
6th Place – Jorge Alvarez of Ventura
7th Place – Adam Galindo of Servite
8th Place – David Perez of Rio Mesa


Title Match: Nicholas Sahakian pinned Sultan Jasem at 1:35.

1st Place – Nicholas Sahakian of St John Bosco
2nd Place – Sultan Jasem of Highland
3rd Place – Brandon Bass of Servite
4th Place – George Llamas of Montclair
5th Place – Jorge Hernandez of Chino
6th Place – Alan Snell of Garden Grove
7th Place – Gabriel Velasco of Northview
8th Place – Armani Cortez-Castillo of Lancaster