Etiwanda’s Jacob Bell & Evan Manzo Win 138-&-165-Pound Titles at CIF-SS Northern Division Individuals; Eagles Finish Second as a Program

Feb 11 2024 02:14:32


Northern Division at Sonora HS:

Etiwanda finished second as a program at the two-day CIF-SS Northern Division Individuals at Sonora High School.

The Eagles were just 9.5 points back of first-place Hillcrest.

Etiwanda junior Jacob Bell became a three-time CIF champ.

Bell pinned his way to the 138-pound title, including a stick of Mathias Garza of Eisenhower in the final

Evan Manzo was the other EHS wrestler to earn an individual championship.

Just like his teammate, Manzo pinned his way to the 165-pound title, including one of Angel Orozco (Western) at 4:47 in the final.

Manzo is now a two-time champion.

Rancho Cucamonga’s Jayden Espinoza earned the 144-pound championship.

Espinoza went 5-0, with three decision wins and a pair of pins.

Espinoza defeated Esperanza’s Jude Holiday, 5-0, in the title bout.

Los Osos senior Xingyu Chen had an impressive run to the 157-pound championship.

Chen outlasted Logan Carrera of El Modena, 10-8, in the final.

Team Scores:
1-Mayfair (220)
2-Etiwanda (188)
3-Esperanza (178.5
4-Villa Park (133.5)
5-El Dorado (124.5)
6-South Torrance (115)
7-Western (113)
8-Damien (93)
9-Cypress (92.5)
10-Sonora (87)

Top-5 Advances to CIF-SS Masters Meet:


Title Match: Mason Box def. Isaiah Cruz, 6-4.

1st Place – Mason Box of Canyon
2nd Place – Isaiah Cruz of Mayfair
3rd Place – Kelly Brown of West Torrance
4th Place – Marchello Calavitta of Esperanza
5th Place – Dylan Esquivel of El Dorado
6th Place – Phoenix Cruz of La Mirada
7th Place – Samuel Olivier of Notre Dame/Riv
8th Place – Lorenzo Pastrana of Valencia Placentia


Title Match: Caden Garriott def. Jimmy Romero, 8-3.

1st Place – Caden Garriott of South Torrance
2nd Place – Jimmy Romero of Cypress
3rd Place – Joseph Garcia of Magnolia
4th Place – Sebastian Brooks of Mayfair
5th Place – Elias Rodriguez of La Habra
6th Place – Christian Gijon of La Mirada
7th Place – Maxx Diaz of Etiwanda
8th Place – Leonardo Hernandez of Villa Park


Title Match: Isaiah Quintero def. Jake Decker by medical forfeit.

1st Place – Isaiah Quintero of El Dorado
2nd Place – Jake Decker of Canyon
3rd Place – Luis Romero of Villa Park
4th Place – Anthony Mason of La Mirada
5th Place – Noe Duarte of Downey
6th Place – Jacob Solano of Etiwanda
7th Place – Mason Barros-Santiago of North Torrance
8th Place – Paul Romero of Western


Title Match: James Ruiz pinned Gael Delgado at 1:52.

1st Place – James Ruiz of Esperanza
2nd Place – Gael Delgado of Warren
3rd Place – Esteban Armenta of Mayfair
4th Place – Azuan Gonzalez of Eisenhower
5th Place – Brandon Walter-Strauss of West Torrance
6th Place – Brandon Vinluan of Upland
7th Place – Moses Correa of El Dorado
8th Place – Benjamin Mejia of Etiwanda


Title Match: Isaac Gonzalez def. Vincent Partington, 3-2.

1st Place – Isaac Gonzalez of Western
2nd Place – Vince Partington of Cypress
3rd Place – Austin McSwain of Etiwanda
4th Place – Edgar Mora of Mayfair
5th Place – Jaden Broussard of Villa Park
6th Place – Luke Jelus of Rancho Cucamonga
7th Place – Anthony Ruiz of Santa Ana Valley
8th Place – Joshua Lee of South Torrance


Title Match: Jacob Bell pinned Mathius Garza at 6:00.

1st Place – Jacob Bell of Etiwanda
2nd Place – Mathius Garza of Eisenhower
3rd Place – Shawn Torres of La Habra
4th Place – Maddox Herrera of Esperanza
5th Place – Leonardo Guerrero of Mayfair
6th Place – Andre Garcia of Savanna
7th Place – Jacob De Leon of Upland
8th Place – Alex Jeha of Canyon


Title Match: Jayden Espinoza def. Jude Holiday, 5-0.

1st Place – Jayden Espinoza of Rancho Cucamonga
2nd Place – Jude Holiday of Esperanza
3rd Place – Bradley Espinoza of Brea Olinda
4th Place – Anthony Peraza of Warren
5th Place – Elijah Robledo of Mayfair
6th Place – Liam Kim of Sunny Hills
7th Place – Gavin Tsukiyama of North Torrance
8th Place – Jason Castaneda of Etiwanda


Title Match: Sean Otero def. James Holiday, 8-2.

1st Place – Sean Otero of Norwalk
2nd Place – James Holiday of Esperanza
3rd Place – Santiago Loera of Etiwanda
4th Place – Jake Jelus of Rancho Cucamonga
5th Place – Turner Yanagisawa of Mayfair
6th Place – Chris Castellanos of Anaheim
7th Place – Dylan Thienngern of Cypress
8th Place – Miko Duterte of Upland


Title March: Xingyu Chen def. Logan Carrera, 10-6.

1st Place – Xingyu Chen of Los Osos
2nd Place – Logan Carrera of El Modena
3rd Place – Matthew Leon of Foothill
4th Place – Nathan Aceves of Brea Olinda
5th Place – Jake Felix of Downey
6th Place – Ryan Galvan of Santa Rosa Academy
7th Place – Malachi Alatorre of Western
8th Place – Ivan Torres of North Torrance


Title Match: Evan Manzo pinned Anthony Caso at 4:47.

1st Place – Evan Manzo of Etiwanda
2nd Place – Anthony Caso of Damien
3rd Place – Kashus Talauega of Villa Park
4th Place – Angel Orozco of Western
5th Place – Jimmy Buentello of Norwalk
6th Place – Lyon Kwon of Sunny Hills
7th Place – Payton Randolph of Yorba Linda
8th Place – Eugene Escalona of La Mirada


Title Match: Ammar Abohahim pinned Jose Nunez at 1:13.

1st Place – Ammar Abohashim of Bellflower
2nd Place – Jose Nunez of Rialto
3rd Place – Luke Salcido of Villa Park
4th Place – Joseph Aguilar of Santa Ana Valley
5th Place – Logan Jackson of Esperanza
6th Place – Robert Oropeza of Yorba Linda
7th Place – Lenny Pena of Valencia Placentia
8th Place – Luka Castillo of Damien


Title Match: Matthew Holiday def. Ezekiel Ormsby, 7-6.

1st Place – Matthew Holiday of Esperanza
2nd Place – Ezekiel Ormsby of South Torrance
3rd Place – Caden Arellano of Damien
4th Place – Jack Beard of Mayfair
5th Place – DeShawn Cobbs of Fullerton
6th Place – Mike Lozano of Sonora
7th Place – Luke Chiarini of Tustin
8th Place – Brian Valdespino of Downey


Title Match: Kayden Cartee pinned Grady Lawson at 0:57.

1st Place – Kayden Cartee of Mayfair
2nd Place – Grady Lawson of El Dorado
3rd Place – James Flores of Western
4th Place – Moses Vaita of Etiwanda
5th Place – David Baxter of Sonora
6th Place – Santiago Salas of Yorba Linda
7th Place – Leonardo Battulga of South Torrance
8th Place – Ryan Alba of Damien


Title Match: Santiago Benitez pinned Jon Silvestri at 2:57.

1st Place – Santiago Benitez of Villa Park
2nd Place – Jon Silvestri of Yorba Linda
3rd Place – Ezekiel Lucero of Damien
4th Place – Daniel Torrez of Mayfair
5th Place – Demetrio Sandoval of Downey
6th Place – Julian Gomez of Valencia Placentia
7th Place – Ray Zalmai of Canyon
8th Place – Tim Carmona of Brea Olinda